Series to Start! City of brass!!

I have been trying to to read more adult series. This adult series is high on my list to start reading!!

Cover!

Summary!!

On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri accidentally summons Dara, an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior, during one of her cons, she learns that even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. 

Forced to flee Cairo, Dara and Nahri journey together across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire and rivers where the mythical marid sleep, past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises and mountains where the circling birds of prey are more than what they seem, to Daevabad, the legendary city of brass. 

It’s a city steeped in magic and fire, where blood can be as dangerous as any spell; a city where old resentments run deep and the royal court rules with a tenuous grip; a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound—and where her very presence threatens to ignite a war that has been simmering for centuries. 

Book Information:

  • Print Length: 569 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Voyager; Reprint edition (November 14, 2017)
  • Publication Date: November 14, 2017

Author Information:

S. A. Chakraborty is the author of the critically acclaimed and internationally best-selling The Daevabad Trilogy. Her work has been nominated for the Locus, World Fantasy, Crawford, and Astounding awards. When not buried in books about thirteen-century con artists and Abbasid political intrigue, she enjoys hiking, knitting, and re-creating unnecessarily complicated medieval meals. You can find her online at http://www.sachakraborty.com or on Twitter and Instagram at @SAChakrabooks, where she likes to talk about history, politics, and Islamic art. She lives in New Jersey with her husband, daughter, and an ever-increasing number of cats.

Let me know if you have this series your non-spoiler thoughts in the comments!

Later book lovers!

#Black Lives Matter TBR!!

I will admit, I have not been a diverse reader and that really needs to change. I am going to try to be better and pick up more diverse reads but in the nonfiction category and the fiction category.

Fiction!!

  1. Angie Thomas (The Hate that you give)
  2. The Fire on High
  3. Let me hear a rhyme
  4. Opposite of always
  5. Cinderella is dead
  6. A love hate thing
  7. Miles Morels (Spider Man Novel)

Non-Fiction

  1. White Supremacy and me
  2. White Fragility
  3. Nasty women anthology
  4. What do we do know anthology.

Let me know what are some books you will be tackling to add some diverse voices to your reading life!

Later book lovers!

What I am reading Monday Complete

So this was a bit of a weird reading week. I feel like I did not read as many books but I really liked them!

What I read!!

I really liked this book. I loved how this book was structured. I am craving to travel so much and this book hit the spot 🙂

What I am currently reading!!

I am liking the balance between sea and court policies 🙂

What I want to read next!!

I think I am going to read this next cause it suppose to be a fun read 🙂

Let me know what you reading plans for this week are in the comments!

Later book lovers!

What I am loving! Favs of April!!

So because we have been home a lot more than normal I wanted to start a feature on my blog talking about all the stuff other then books I have been using too occupy my time. So lets get into it!

T.V Shows I binged Watch

  • locke and key!!! Very good excited for season 2
  • This is us season 4 * so glad I finally caught up.
  • Royal Pains Last season
  • Gifted Season 2
  • Fuller house season 5
  • Nailed it season 4

T.V shows I caught up on:

  • good doctor
  • Nancy drew
  • Katy keen
  • arrow verse minus arrow and black lighting
  • Bold type
  • Good Trouble

Shows I started Binging

  • Letter to the king
  • Legecies
  • When call the heart
  • Pitch
  • Agent Carter

Games I have been playing

  • Animal crossing
  • Spyro

So let me know what are some of the things you have been enjoying during your time being home more.. I will be back in May with a new list!

Later book lovers!

May TBR!!!

So I haves split my TBR Into three major categories for may. Because may is middle grade month. I am focusing on a lot of middle grade books and other books that i did not get too during march! I know i won’t read them all, but I want to have options:

Time Wrap Ya book club books:

  1. Twisted tale book (disney)
  2. Scarlett (I read it in April)

Middle Grade Reads!

  1. Keeper of the lost cities: Legacy
  2. Kudo Kids: The Mystery of the masked medalist (ARC September 2020)
  3. The Last chance Hotel
  4. Curse of the Night Witch (ARC June 2020)
  5. The Midnight hour (2020 ARC)
  6. Aster and the accidental magic (2020 arc)
  7. Seekers of the wild realm (ARC JULY 2020)
  8. Ghost squad ( 2020 arc)

Other Reads!

  1. Born at Midnight
  2. The Sound of Stars
  3. Foundryside
  4. Unravel the Dusk
  5. Chasing Starlight
  6. Assassin’s Apprentice
  7. Chosen
  8. The Royal We
  9. The Shadows between us
  10. The Queen’s Assassin
  11. We are the wild cats
  12. Girls save the world in this one
  13. Scavenge the Stars

Let me know what are some books that are on your May TBR!

Later book lovers!

Waiting for Wed: Witches of Ash and Ruin

Here is another book that I picked up from ALA that is high on my tbr!!

COVER!!


Summary!!

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finallybecoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.
And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer’s motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don’t stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.
With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that’s impossible to put down.

Book Information:

Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (March 3, 2020)
Language: English

Let me if this book is on your TBR at all!

Later book lovers!!

WWW: Admission by Julie Buxbaum

So this book has a concept that is ripped for the headlines and I also normally love this author writing!!

Cover!!

Summary!!

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes an of-the-moment novel that peeks inside the private lives of the hypercompetitive and the hyperprivileged and takes on the college admissions bribery scandal that rocked the country.

It’s good to be Chloe Wynn Berringer. She’s headed off to the college of her dreams. She’s going to prom with the boy she’s had a crush on since middle school. Her best friend always has her back, and her mom, a B-list Hollywood celebrity, may finally be on her way to the B+ list. It’s good to be Chloe Wynn Berringer–at least, it was, until the FBI came knocking on her front door, guns at the ready, and her future went up in smoke. Now her mother is under arrest in a massive college admissions bribery scandal. Chloe, too, might be facing charges, and even time behind bars. The public is furious, the press is rabid, and the US attorney is out for blood.

As she loses everything she’s long taken for granted, Chloe must reckon not only with the truth of what happened, but also with the examination of her own guilt. Why did her parents think the only way for her to succeed was to cheat for her? What did she know, and when did she know it? And perhaps most importantly, what does it mean to be complicit?

Book Information:

  • Age Range: 12 – 17 years
  • Grade Level: 7 – 9
  • Lexile Measure: 0870 (What’s this?)
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (May 5, 2020)

Let me know if this book is high on your summer TBR like it is on mine!!

Later book lovers!



WWW: Tweet Cute!!

I have heard awesome things about this book and am dying to get my hands on it soon!

Cover!!

Summary!!

A fresh, irresistible rom-com from debut author Emma Lord about the chances we take, the paths life can lead us on, and how love can be found in the opposite place you expected.

Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming ― mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account.

Enter Jack, class clown and constant thorn in Pepper’s side. When he isn’t trying to duck out of his obscenely popular twin’s shadow, he’s busy working in his family’s deli. His relationship with the business that holds his future might be love/hate, but when Big League Burger steals his grandma’s iconic grilled cheese recipe, he’ll do whatever it takes to take them down, one tweet at a time.

All’s fair in love and cheese ― that is, until Pepper and Jack’s spat turns into a viral Twitter war. Little do they know, while they’re publicly duking it out with snarky memes and retweet battles, they’re also falling for each other in real life ― on an anonymous chat app Jack built.

As their relationship deepens and their online shenanigans escalate ― people on the internet are shipping them?? ― their battle gets more and more personal, until even these two rivals can’t ignore they were destined for the most unexpected, awkward, all-the-feels romance that neither of them expected. 

Author Information!!

Emma Lord is a digital media editor and writer living in New York City, where she spends whatever time she isn’t writing either running or belting show tunes in community theater. She graduated from the University of Virginia with a major in psychology and a minor in how to tilt your computer screen so nobody will notice you updating your fan fiction from the back row. She was raised on glitter, grilled cheese, and a whole lot of love. Her sun sign is Hufflepuff, but she is a Gryffindor rising.

Book Information!!

  • Age Range: 12 – 18 years
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (January 21, 2020)

Let me know in the comments if this book is high on your tbr, It is def on mine!

Later book lovers!!