Waiting for Wed: Witches of Ash and Ruin

Here is another book that I picked up from ALA that is high on my tbr!!

COVER!!


Summary!!

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finallybecoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.
And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer’s motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don’t stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.
With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that’s impossible to put down.

Book Information:

Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (March 3, 2020)
Language: English

Let me if this book is on your TBR at all!

Later book lovers!!

WWW: Admission by Julie Buxbaum

So this book has a concept that is ripped for the headlines and I also normally love this author writing!!

Cover!!

Summary!!

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes an of-the-moment novel that peeks inside the private lives of the hypercompetitive and the hyperprivileged and takes on the college admissions bribery scandal that rocked the country.

It’s good to be Chloe Wynn Berringer. She’s headed off to the college of her dreams. She’s going to prom with the boy she’s had a crush on since middle school. Her best friend always has her back, and her mom, a B-list Hollywood celebrity, may finally be on her way to the B+ list. It’s good to be Chloe Wynn Berringer–at least, it was, until the FBI came knocking on her front door, guns at the ready, and her future went up in smoke. Now her mother is under arrest in a massive college admissions bribery scandal. Chloe, too, might be facing charges, and even time behind bars. The public is furious, the press is rabid, and the US attorney is out for blood.

As she loses everything she’s long taken for granted, Chloe must reckon not only with the truth of what happened, but also with the examination of her own guilt. Why did her parents think the only way for her to succeed was to cheat for her? What did she know, and when did she know it? And perhaps most importantly, what does it mean to be complicit?

Book Information:

  • Age Range: 12 – 17 years
  • Grade Level: 7 – 9
  • Lexile Measure: 0870 (What’s this?)
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (May 5, 2020)

Let me know if this book is high on your summer TBR like it is on mine!!

Later book lovers!



WWW: Tweet Cute!!

I have heard awesome things about this book and am dying to get my hands on it soon!

Cover!!

Summary!!

A fresh, irresistible rom-com from debut author Emma Lord about the chances we take, the paths life can lead us on, and how love can be found in the opposite place you expected.

Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive fast-food chain is booming ― mainly thanks to Pepper, who is barely managing to juggle real life while secretly running Big League Burger’s massive Twitter account.

Enter Jack, class clown and constant thorn in Pepper’s side. When he isn’t trying to duck out of his obscenely popular twin’s shadow, he’s busy working in his family’s deli. His relationship with the business that holds his future might be love/hate, but when Big League Burger steals his grandma’s iconic grilled cheese recipe, he’ll do whatever it takes to take them down, one tweet at a time.

All’s fair in love and cheese ― that is, until Pepper and Jack’s spat turns into a viral Twitter war. Little do they know, while they’re publicly duking it out with snarky memes and retweet battles, they’re also falling for each other in real life ― on an anonymous chat app Jack built.

As their relationship deepens and their online shenanigans escalate ― people on the internet are shipping them?? ― their battle gets more and more personal, until even these two rivals can’t ignore they were destined for the most unexpected, awkward, all-the-feels romance that neither of them expected. 

Author Information!!

Emma Lord is a digital media editor and writer living in New York City, where she spends whatever time she isn’t writing either running or belting show tunes in community theater. She graduated from the University of Virginia with a major in psychology and a minor in how to tilt your computer screen so nobody will notice you updating your fan fiction from the back row. She was raised on glitter, grilled cheese, and a whole lot of love. Her sun sign is Hufflepuff, but she is a Gryffindor rising.

Book Information!!

  • Age Range: 12 – 18 years
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (January 21, 2020)

Let me know in the comments if this book is high on your tbr, It is def on mine!

Later book lovers!!

BookMas!! Giveaway!!

Small reminder about my giveaway!!

Laura's Bookish Corner

So to kick off 2020 right!! I am giving away a set of arcs for my my blog and my youtube channel!! The video Bellow gives you all the details!!

Prizes:

Youtube Channel: Seven Deadly Shadows and The Mystwick School of Musicraft * America! International: 25 Dollar credit to Book Depository

Blog: Maya and the Rising Dark and I hope you get this Message *America* International: 25 Dollar credit to Book Depository

Blog Link May the Odds be in your favor!!

YouTube May the odds be in your favor!!

I hope that you are having a lovely holiday season and I hope you enjoy my bookish content starting tommrow!!

May the odds ever be in your favor!!

Later booklovers!!

View original post

TTT: Gift Ideas for Book Lovers In your life!!

So I am always trying to think up creative gift ideas for the book lovers in my life. It is not always easy. But here are some not books but some ideas for any book lovers might like to see this holiday season!!

  1. Heavy duty book marks
  2. Book Subscriptions for a month
  3. Audible Subscriptions
  4. Bookish Apparal (Shirts, Long sleeve shirts)
  5. Book Sleeves
  6. Bookish themed props
  7. Bookish Planner
  8. Funko inspired by something that they like
  9. Gift cards to local book store
  10. Regift older books form your collections for a gift add one
  11. Give them on of yours favorite books of the year.

Tistheseasonathon TBR!!

Join us for the Tistheseasonathon! This Readathon is hosted by bookable and I loved Participating in this readathon last year!!

The dates for the readathon are from December 2-8!

Use the #tistheseasonathon to share your tbr & more! –Socials for the readathon– Twitter: https://twitter.com/Tistheseasonnn Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tistheseason –Reading Challenges–

1. Read a book with snow on the cover: Blood Spell

2. Read a holiday themed book. My True Crush gave to me and or 10 blind dates or Love and other train wreaks

3. Book you received as a gift: Ghosts, The Hating game, Where dreams Descend

4. Read a book while eating your favorite holiday treat: Ghosts

5. A Book title related to music. My True crush gave to me (audibook)

Extra/Bonus Challenge: Read our Buddy Read, 10 Blind Dates by Ashley Elston.

Let me know what are some holiday themed reads you might tackle in december!!!

Later book lovers!!

Time Sight (Non-Spoiler review)

Time Sight by Lynn Joel

Published by  Henry Holt and Co. on May 14, 2019

Genres: Middle grade, adventure

Pages: 416

Format: arc

Source: publisher

2019 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

Castles, battles, the ancient Scottish Highlands, and a boy who is determined to bring everyone safely home combine in this absorbing middle grade time-travel adventure.

Will’s mother is in danger overseas, and his father must find her, so Will and his little brother are packed off to relatives in Scotland. Will feels useless. He can’t save his mother. He can’t help his father. And when he tries to amuse his brother on the plane ride, he can’t even locate the images in Jamie’s book―the hidden pictures that everyone else can see. Once at the family’s ancestral castle, though, Will tries again. And as he delicately adjusts his focus, suddenly his eyes tune in to a different visual frequency―the past.

Looking back five hundred years is interesting . . . at first. But when Jamie impulsively leaps through the opening in time, Will and his cousin Nan must follow, into a past so dangerous that Will isn’t sure how he will get everyone safely home.

My Thoughts:

I really did like this middle grade read. I really did love the dynamics between the siblings made the book such a fun read. I also loved how she crafted time travel overall. The plot was sometimes hard to follow and I sometimes was confused about what time period we were in but overall it was super fun adventure story that pulled a lot from real history that I really enjoyed. I found the book plot to be not as smooth as want and wanted it do more direct but I did grow to love the characters and I adored the settings in this read.

Post Updates!! What to expect in the next two weeks!!

Hi guys!!

So for the next 2 weeks you will be getting review every day!! I am doing this for two reasons!!

  1. I have so many reviews I would love to post before 2019 ends!!! I have so many books I want to tell you about!
  2. Two my cousin wedding is this week and I would have less time to focus on my making posts!!

So thank you for being so understanding! I hope that you like this content!

Later book lovers!!!