Heart Of Iron (Non-Spolier Review)

Heart of Iron by Ashley Boston

Unknown

Published by Balzer + Bray on February 27, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Pages: 466

Format: Hardback

Source: Personally bought

2018 challenge: PSRC (book about a real person)

Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 5 for a review.

Summary!!!

An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

My Brief Thoughts:

I don’t know why it took me so long to pick up this book but I really flew through it. I loved all these characters so much and was so invested in all the POVS. I really enjoyed the short chapters and also the plot had me super engaged. I really flew through this book. I also love the diversity of this cast but also how Poston turn the lost princess myth on its head! I really enjoyed this book and also am dying for book 2!

My Extended Thoughts!!

Characters: I really was invested in all these POV of characters and found them to be super diverse and just so compelling to read. I loved how these characters really reflected all the nations in this world. I really was so invested in all the characters. I need book 2 now!!

Pace: I really had a hard time putting this book down. It was longer book but such a easy read. I just was super invested and hard to put this book down!!

World Building I really enjoyed the world she built and it was super diverse world and it was so easy to fall into. It was easy to understand and follow but such a fun world!

Sequel!!! Yes!! NOW!!

 

 

Advertisements

The Hazel Wood: Non-Spoiler review:

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Unknown-1

Published by Flatiron Books on January 30, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Fairy tale retelling

Pages: 368 pages

Format: Hardback

Source: Fairyloot

Amazon   goodreads   barnes and noble

I would give this book 3.5 for a review.

Summary!

Welcome to Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Woodthe fiercely stunning New York Timesbestseller with seven starred reviews everyone is raving about!

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother’s stories are set. Alice’s only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother’s tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.

My  Brief Thoughts

I gave this book 3.5 stars for review*
I did not love this book but I had a hard time putting it down. I really enjoyed some parts of this book but was not engaged in the whole thing. I loved the twisty/ dark setting of the various fairytales we learned about. I think I might like this book better on re-read because I think I may be less lost. I will be curious to see if we get more books. I loved the start and the end of this story the most. The middle part dragged a tad. I thought the main character was hard to connect with by I loved Finch alot! I am curious to see what happens next in this series

My Extended Thoughts!

Characters: I thought most of these characters were hard to become emotionally invested  in. I struggled to Love Alice but my favorite character of this book was def. Ellery.

Plot: I really liked the plot at the beginning and the end of the book it was the most engaging for me and I was super invested. The middle part is where I struggled. I wanted to love the “hazlewood” part but I did not love, I enjoyed it but I felt like it was missing something.

Pacing: Same as above I enjoyed the pacing at the start and end of there novel but I stubbled with the pacing in the middle.

Setting: This book was the reverse of what normally happens to me. I was much more invested in the urban fantasy part of this book then the fantasy world. I liked both but i prefer when the story was in the “real” world.

Will I pick up book 2? I will def. be picking it up. I will be curious to hear the plot for me to decide what format I want 🙂

 

 

Hearts that we sold: Non-Spoiler review!!

The Hearts We Sold  by Emily Lloyd-Jones

Unknown-1.jpeg

Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers on August 8, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal

Pages: 400

Format: Hardbak

Source: owl crate (August box 2017 Something Wicked this way comes)

Challenge: Backlist Challenge

BTB2018_BBTeam.png

amazon    goodreads    barnes and noble

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary!

An intoxicating blend of fantasy, horror, and romance–a Faustian fable perfect for fans of Holly Black, and Stranger Things.

Dee Moreno is out of options. Her home life sucks (to put it mildly), and she’s about to get booted from her boarding school–the only place she’s ever felt free–for lack of funds. But this is a world where demons exist, and the demons are there to make deals: one human body part in exchange for one wish come true.

The demon who Dee approaches doesn’t trade in the usual arms and legs, however. He’s only interested in her heart. And what comes after Dee makes her deal is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. Reality is turned on its head, and Dee has only her fellow “heartless,” the charming but secretive James Lancer, to keep her grounded. As something like love grows between them amid an otherworldly threat, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give James her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In The Hearts We Sold, demons can be outwitted, hearts can be reclaimed, monsters can be fought, and love isn’t impossible. This book will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

 

My Thoughts:

This book was such a fun suprise. It was such a solid standalone. I really enjoyed both the characters and the plot. I think I would have been more invested in the characters if i spent more time with them but it still made a impact on me. I loved how reality and the supernatural met and the POV of Dee. I thought the world buidling was so easy to understand and it was hard to put down. If you enjoy tv shows like Buffy or teen wolf or books like the Mortal instruments, i think you would enjoy this standalone book!

 

Foolish Hearts: Non-Spoiler Review

Foolish Hearts  by Emma Mills

Published by  Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) on December 5, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, contemporary

Pages:320

Format: Hardback

Source: owl crate (sieze the day: december box)

2018 challenge: Beat the backlist Challenge

amazon  goodreads barnes and noble

BTB2018_BBTeam.png

I would give this book 5 for a review.

33275690.jpg

Summary!

When Claudia accidentally eavesdrops on the epic breakup of Paige and Iris, the it-couple at her school, she finds herself in hot water with prickly, difficult Iris. Thrown together against their will in the class production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, along with the goofiest, cutest boy Claudia has ever known, Iris and Claudia are in for an eye-opening senior year.

Smart, funny, and thoroughly, wonderfully flawed, Claudia navigates a world of intense friendships and tentative romance in Emma Mills’s Follish Hearts, a young adult novel about expanding your horizons, allowing yourself to be vulnerable, and accepting—and loving—people for who they really are.

My Thoughts:

This book was so adorable that I had to give it five stars. I loved how diverse this book was from page one. I loved how so many different aspects of teen life was show in this book like loves, passion and friendship. I would def. say this book focused so much on friendship and how friendships can change and that was the standout part of this book for me. With romance undertones that like the play midsummer nights dream, you never know who was “end-game” It was quick read that i finished in one day. I def want to read more by this author in the future.