Prince in Disguise (Non – Spoiler Review)

Prince in Disguise  by Stephanie Kate Strohm.

unknown-7

Published by Disney-Hyperion on December 19, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, contemporary, Holiday Reads

Pages: 320

Format: Hardback

Source: Library

2018 challenge: Beat the backlist challenge

Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary!!!

Someday I want to live in a place where I never hear “You’re Dusty’s sister?” ever again.
Life is real enough for Dylan-especially as the ordinary younger sister of Dusty, former Miss Mississippi and the most perfect, popular girl in Tupelo. But when Dusty wins the hand of the handsome Scottish laird-to-be Ronan on the TRC television network’s crown jewel, Prince in Disguise, Dylan has to face a different kind of reality: reality TV.

As the camera crew whisks them off to Scotland to film the lead-up to the wedding, camera-shy Dylan is front and center as Dusty’s maid of honor. The producers are full of surprises-including old family secrets, long-lost relatives, and a hostile future mother-in-law who thinks Dusty and Dylan’s family isn’t good enough for her only son. At least there’s Jamie, an adorably bookish groomsman who might just be the perfect antidote to all Dylan’s stress . . . if she just can keep TRC from turning her into the next reality show sensation.

 

My Thoughts:

I will admit the first half of this book was okay. I did enjoy it, but it did not wow me. I thought the book overall had very slow pacing and it took me awhile to feel totally connected to the characters but by the end of the book I was totally engaged and loved the characters. I really did liked the reality tav show element and also the over the pond adventure. Dusty took a while to grow on me. I found the end to be such a fun suprise and it def made me enjoy the book a lot more. I would even re-read this book again. I hope to read more this author in the future.

Advertisements

The Afterlife of Holly Chase (Non-Spoiler Review)

The Afterlife of Holly Chase  by Cynthia Hand

unknown-5

Published by HarperTeen on October 24, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, holiday read

Pages: 400

Format: paperback

Source: personally bought

2018 challenge: Beat the backlist challenge

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary!!!

Before I Fall meets “bah, humbug” in this contemporary YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand. On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died. Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge—as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable. But this year’s Scrooge is different. This year’s Scrooge might change everything…The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, poignant, and insightful novel about life, love, and seizing second (or third) chances, perfect for readers who loved Before I Fall or Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I normally struggle with unlikable characters but I really did enjoy holly throughout the book and really liked her by the end. I really enjoyed this book as a retelling and especially liked how it was mix between a retelling and also had elements of work place comedy. I really liked all the side characters def made me really loved this book. I found this book to be super well paced even thought it occurred over the course of the year. I did liked how the holly turned did seem like it was realistic and really enjoyed it. It was def. one of of my favorite holiday reads of the year.

Carols and Chaos: Non-Spolier Review

Carols and Chaos  by Cindy Anstey

Unknown-3

Published by Swoon Reads on October 9, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Mystery

Pages: 336

Format: paperback

Source: Personally bought

2018 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 3  for a review.

Summary!!!

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady’s maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He’s performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate’s holiday guests.

Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue.

Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday mischief, Carols and Chaos―a standalone companion novel to Suitors and Sabotage―is perfect for readers who like their historical fiction with a side of romance and danger.

My Thoughts:

I actually enjoyed this book. I thought it was such a cute historical fiction read that has some holiday drama. I really liked the romance as well in this book and found both POV to be equally interesting. I also liked how really it was focused on historical fiction rules and society rules. It was such a fun read. I also was pleasantly suprised by the mystery and really liked that plot part as well. I def would read more by this author in the future.

 

Snow In love: Holiday short story collection review:

Letters to the lost by Cruz, Stone, Friedman, West

Unknown

Published by Point on October 30, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, romance, holiday reads

Pages: 272

Format: paperback

Source: Personally bought

2018 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

What’s better than one deliciously cozy, swoon-worthy holiday story?

Four of them, from some of today’s bestselling authors.

From KASIE WEST, a snowy road trip takes an unexpected detour when secrets and crushes are revealed.

From AIMEE FRIEDMAN, a Hanukkah miracle may just happen when a Jewish girl working as a department store elf finds love.

From MELISSA DE LA CRUZ, Christmas Eve gets a plot twist when a high school couple exchange surprising presents.

From NIC STONE, a scavenger hunt amid the holiday crowds at an airport turns totally romantic.

So grab a mug of hot cocoa, snuggle up, and get ready to fall in love..

My Brief Thoughts:

I really loved this holiday themed short story collection. I found them to but such fun reads and I flew through them. These stories put me in the holiday spirt. I thought these stories were connected to stories types that are just fun to reed about like snow storm, a fun holiday job, holiday gifts suprise and scavenger hunt themed stories. I think my favorite story was Kassie west and Mellissa de la cruz. I also liked the various types of characters that were featured in this story. These stories put a smile on my face and i really rec. this holiday reading collection!

Story Favorites!!

  1. Kassie West
  2. Friedman
  3. Nic Stone
  4. Cruz

Let me know in the comments, If you read this collection what was your favorite story!!

 

 

 

T5W: Children’s Books to Read as an Adult

This was such an easy list to create! Some of these books won’t be a shock but they need to be talked about!  I will discuss all these in the video below 🙂

 

  1. Harry potter (do we really need to explain why this series needs to be revisited)!!!
  2. Percy Jackson (the amount of myths and positive characters in his various stories need to be revisited)
  3. His dark materials!
  4. Among the hidden series
  5. Nacy drew series!

Let me know what are some children series you think I should add to my TBR as a adult!

Later book lovers!

The chaos of standing still by Jessica Brody: Non-Spoiler Review

The chaos of standing still  by Jessica Brody

Published by Simon Pulse (November 28, 2017)

Genres: Young Adult , Contemporary

Pages: 411

Format: Hardback

Source: Libary

Challenge: Beat the backlist book # 2

goodreads  Amazon  Barnes and noble

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary

“Jessica Brody has made me believe that getting stuck in an airport overnight would be the most fantastic thing in the world. I fell hard for this story of love, loss, friendship, and bad airport food. I loved it!” —Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything

Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Summer.

Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.

She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.

But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.

And his name is Xander.

When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.

Ryn can’t move on.

But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.

As moving as it is funny, The Chaos of Standing Still is a heartwarming story about the earth-shattering challenges life throws at us—and the unexpected strangers who help us along the way.

 

My Thoughts:

I really enjoy books that take place over the course of one night and especially when they are “trapped” somewhere. I grew to enjoy the main character. Being in this character head took some getting used to but she grew on me. I thought how both grief and depression was handle in this book was super well done. It made me not only feel for the character but also go through my own emotions seeing the various timelines in this book. This book also had various mysteries that kept me engaged and fun cast of characters that I loved meeting in the pages. It was def. a more emotional read but def worth it especially if you are dealing with cold and snowy weather. If you like Katie Mcgary books, this book would be right up your alley!

Later book lovers!