First Line Friday: Nevermoor: The Trials of Morgan Crow!!

So the current book, I am reading is Nevermoor: The Trails of Morgan Crow!! I am really enjoying it and it is such a fun adventure read!

First Line Friday:

” The Journalists arrive before the coffin did”

I don’t know about you, but this line def made me want to read more!! And I am so glad I did!

Summary!!

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she’s blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks–and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.

But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.
It’s then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city’s most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart–an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests–or she’ll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.
Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and Neil Gaiman, this fast-paced plot and imaginative world has a fresh new take on magic that will appeal to a new generation of readers.

Book Information:

  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Series: Nevermoor (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (October 31, 2017)

Let me know if you have read this book and what are your thoughts!!

Later book lovers!!

Advertisements

First Line Friday: Carols and Chaos by Cindy Anstey!!

So because we in the middle of holiday season!!! I am sharing my first line of my current read!!!

Cover!!

Unknown-9

Summary!!!

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady’s maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He’s performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate’s holiday guests.

Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue.

Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday mischief, Carols and Chaos―a standalone companion novel to Suitors and Sabotage―is perfect for readers who like their historical fiction with a side of romance and danger.

First Line Friday

Miss. Kate Darby of Shackleford park is scowled, and yet the recipient of her dark looks was not in the least intimated.

Let know in the comments how you feel about this first line, and if you want to check out this holiday read!!

later book lovers!!

 

First Line Friday: Contagion by Erin Bowman!!

So I am starting this new series for you all!!

First line friday!!! YAY!!!!!

 

First line:

“In the ransacked Black Quary base, The boy climbed into an overhead event secured the cover behind him.”

Cover Reveal!!!!

Unknown-9.jpeg

Summary!!!

Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy.

After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission.

When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project—including its members’ dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried—and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.

My Immediate thoughts!

  • It is super creepy and I am loving it
  • I love the science fiction story.
  • I really like the large cast of characters
  • I so hooked by this mystery and the cast!!

Author Information!

Erin Bowman used to tell stories visually as a web designer. Now a full-time writer, she relies solely on words. She lives in New Hampshire with her family and when not writing she can often be found hiking, geeking out over good typography, and obsessing over all things Harry Potter. Visit her online at embowman.com or on twitter @erin_bowman