What I Carry (Non-Spoiler Review)

What I Carry by Jennifer Longo

Published by  Random House Books for Young Readers on January 21, 2020

Genres: young adult , contempoary

Pages: 327

Format: Hardback

Source: library

2020 challenge: 2020 book

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & NobleGoodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

For readers of Robin Benway’s Far from the Tree, a powerful and heartwarming look at a teen girl about to age out of the foster care system.

Growing up in foster care, Muir has lived in many houses. And if she’s learned one thing, it is to Pack. Light. Carry only what fits in a suitcase.

Toothbrush? Yes. Socks? Yes. Emotional attachment to friends? foster families? a boyfriend? Nope! There’s no room for any additional baggage.

Muir has just one year left before she ages out of the system. One year before she’s free. One year to avoid anything–or anyone–that could get in her way.

Then she meets Francine. And Kira. And Sean. 

My Thoughts:

 really did like this read. This book did take a awhile to grow on me. I thought the structure in this book was not as clear to follow but intreating. i def grew to love this character as this book progreseed this book de was more a of see discovery novel that I feel tackled foster care issues in a very inspireing way. I really did enjoy the various side characters in this book and really loved how much character growth happened in this novel. It was a book that def brought the emotions and overall good read, just not my favorite.