What I like about you (arc review)

What I like about you  by Marisa Kanter

Published by   Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on April 7, 2020

Genres: young adult , contemporary

Pages: 416

Format: arc

Source: ALA publisher

2020 challenge: 2020 book

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4.5 for a review.

Summary!!!

Can a love triangle have only two people in it? Online, it can…but in the real world, its more complicated. In this debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson, Marisa Kanter hilariously and poignantly explores what happens when internet friends turn into IRL crushes.

Is it still a love triangle if there are only two people in it?

There are a million things that Halle Levitt likes about her online best friend, Nash.

He’s an incredibly talented graphic novelist. He loves books almost as much as she does. And she never has to deal with the awkwardness of seeing him in real life. They can talk about anything…

Except who she really is.

Because online, Halle isn’t Halle—she’s Kels, the enigmatically cool creator of One True Pastry, a YA book blog that pairs epic custom cupcakes with covers and reviews. Kels has everything Halle doesn’t: friends, a growing platform, tons of confidence, and Nash.

That is, until Halle arrives to spend senior year in Gramps’s small town and finds herself face-to-face with real, human, not-behind-a-screen Nash. Nash, who is somehow everywhere she goes—in her classes, at the bakery, even at synagogue.

Nash who has no idea she’s actually Kels.

If Halle tells him who she is, it will ruin the non-awkward magic of their digital friendship. Not telling him though, means it can never be anything more. Because while she starts to fall for Nash as Halle…he’s in love with Kels.

My Thoughts:

Overall I loved the concept of this novel so much. As book lover and someone involved in the world of books, reviews and supporting books that part of the book I adored. I thought that part was so true to my own life and really loved that part of the book. I also really loved the used of emailing and social media as a source of friendship and communication. I also really liked how Marisa explored how her main character tackled anxiety. I thought this book was super fast pace read. It is def a book I would re-read again in the future. I loved how this book also talked about the book industry in a honest way. I thought some elements of the books were not wrapped up nicely as I would like and also thought this book had some predicable moments but overall I loved this read. If you are booklover, this might be the perfect read for you and the romance was so cute overall but online and off!!