March Reading Wrap up Part one:

So this month def took a darker turn in terms of world and safety but it actually was not awful for my reading life. So lets dive into half the books I tackled this month!

Time Wrap Ya book club books:

  1. Obseido: Five star read

Other reads

2. Seven Deadly Shadows (2020 book) 4 Stars 3. Keeper of the lost cities (NightFall) (BBLC) 4 Stars 4. We Could be Heroes (2020 Arc) 3 stars 5. Lord of Shadows (BBLC) (BBLC) 4.5 Stars 6. Fiery Trial (BBLC) 5 Stars) 5 Stars 7. Tweet Cute (2020 book) 5 Stars 8. Admission (2020 Book) 3.5 Stars 9. A Heart so Fierce and Broken (2020 book) 4.5 Stars

This a part one of my reads for March 2020!

Some of My Top reads were:

  • Lord of Shadows
  • Tweet Cute
  • Nightfall
  • A heart so fierce and broken!

Check out part two of this video later in the week and let me know what are some books you were able to tackle in march!

Later book lovers!

What I am reading Monday!

So this was the first real week of social distancing and I was able to get quite a bit of reading done! I also completed on my of my major reading goals this year and was so happy.

What I finished Reading!

I really did enjoy this read a lot and found it to be a great concluding read to the series.

What I am currently reading!

I am still really enjoying this series.

What I want to read next!!

I have heard many mixed thoughts in this read and hope i wind up liking it!

What I am listening too!

I really want to keep making progress on this series this upcoming month!



Let me know what your reading plans are for this week in the comments!

Later book lovers!

Storm Keepers Island (Non-Spoiler Review)

The Storm Keeper’s Island  by Catherine Doyle

Published by   Bloomsbury Children’s Books on January 22, 2019

Genres: Middle Grade , Adventure

Pages: 320

Format: Hardback

Source: Personally bought

2020 challenge: BBLC

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & NobleGoodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

Fionn Boyle comes from a long line of brave seafarers, people with the ocean behind their eyes. But he can’t help but fear the open sea. For years, Fionn’s mother has told him stories of Arranmore Island, a strange place that seems to haunt her. Fionn has always wondered about this mysterious island, and from the day he arrives he starts noticing things that can’t be explained. He can sense the island all around him, and it feels like the island is watching him, too.

Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for his grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. But as Fionn and the other descendants of Arranmore’s most powerful families fight to become the island’s next champion, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling a long-ago war and changing Fionn’s life and the island’s future forever.

My Thoughts:

I thought this was a solid middle grade series. I did not love the pacing of this read but I grew to love the characters over the course of the book. I liked the magic elements of this book and also how this book dealt with many different types of family drama. It was slower book but one that still captured my attention, I did enjoy the main character and really am excited to see how he grows in future books in this series.

First Line Friday: Gotham High

So here is my current read, I am trying to tackle more of graphic novels and arcs this year and here is one, I am currently reading:

First Line Friday

” Welcome to Gotham City’s Arkham Preparatory School for boys, now of the most famous and prestigious private schools in the county.”

Cover!


Summary!!

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Alex and Eliza and The Witches of East Endcomes a reimagining of Gotham for a new generation of readers. Before they became Batman, Catwoman, and The Joker, Bruce, Selina, and Jack were high schoolers who would do whatever it took–even destroy the ones they love–to satisfy their own motives.

After being kicked out of his boarding school, 16-year-old Bruce Wayne returns to Gotham City to find that nothing is as he left it. What once was his family home is now an empty husk, lonely but haunted by the memory of his parents’ murder. Selina Kyle, once the innocent girl next door, now rules over Gotham High School with a dangerous flair, aided by the class clown, Jack Napier.

When a kidnapping rattles the school, Bruce seeks answers as the dark and troubled knight–but is he actually the pawn? Nothing is ever as it seems, especially at Gotham High, where the parties and romances are of the highest stakes … and where everyone is a suspect. 

With enchanting art by Thomas Pitilli, this new graphic novel is just as intoxicating as it is chilling, in which dearest friends turn into greatest enemies–all within the hallways of Gotham High!

Book Information:

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: DC Comics (April 7, 2020)
  • Language: English

Let me know if this book is high on your tbr!

Later book lovers!

Throw Back Purchase TBR: The Apprentice Witch!!

In honor of middle grade March, here is another middle grade series, that I would love to read this year!!

Cover!!

Book Summary!!

Arianwyn has flunked her witch’s assessment: She’s doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch — much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma.

But remote Lull is not as boring as it seems. Strange things are sighted in the woods, a dangerous infestation of hex creeps throughout the town, and a mysterious magical visitor arrives with his eye on her. 

With every spirit banished, creature helped, and spell cast, Arianwyn starts to get the hang of being a witch — even if she’s only an apprentice. But the worst still lies ahead. For a sinister darkness has begun to haunt her spells, and there may be much more at stake than just her pride… for Arianwyn and the entire land.

Book Information:

  • Age Range: 8 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Lexile Measure: HL760L (What’s this?)
  • Series: Apprentice Witch (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Chicken House (June 26, 2018)

Let me know in the comments if you are interested in checking out this series!

Later book lovers!

WWW: Bone Crier Moon

I am really excited to get my hands in this book soon This book sounds right up my alley!

Book cover!!

Summary!!

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Kathryn Purdie comes a high-stakes fantasy duology flush with doomed romance and macabre magic, perfect for fans of Stephanie Garber and Roshani Chokshi.

Bone Criers are the last descendants of an ancient famille charged with using the magic they draw from animal bones to shepherd the dead into the afterlife—lest they drain the light from the living.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become their matriarch, but first she must complete her rite of passage: to kill the boy she’s destined to love. 

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Now his vengeance must wait, as Ailesse’s ritual has begun and their fates are entwined—in life and in death.

Book Information!!

  • Hardcover: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (March 3, 2020)
  • Language: English

Let me know in the comments if this book is also high on your TBR as well!

Later book lovers!

TTT: Top Ten Bea Reads to Still read!!

So going to book conventions is so much fun but you also sometimes some reads you don’t get around too by the time they come out! Here are some BEA AND Book Con reads that I still want to read!

  1. The Fire Keepers
  2. Angle Mage
  3. Rage
  4. The Tenth Girl
  5. Rebel Girls
  6. Girls of Storm and Shadows
  7. A Treason of Thorns
  8. The Prom
  9. Tristan Strong punches a hole in the Sky
  10. A heart so fierce and broken

Let me know if any of these reads are still on your TBR!

Later book lovers!!

What I am reading Monday!!!

Well I will be honest this past week did def not go as planned. I am not on self quarantine and working from home as NYC and the world battles the virus. Other then working I do hope to make some massive reading progress but we will see what this week bring, we all flying blind into the unknown, but books make me feel better. So I will def be reading and be practing social-distancing.

What I finished reading!!

I did like this read but it was def not my favorite read by this author to date

What I am currently reading!!

I have been having some good luck with these graphic novels and this ones sounds right up my alley!

What I want to Read next!!

I hope that avoiding outside and social distancing will help me tackle this read at a quicker pace.

Tell me in the comments what are some of your reading plans for this week, i would love to hear about them!

Later book lovers!

Casper Tock and the EverDark Wings!! (Non-Spoiler Review)

Casper Tock and the Everdark Wings by Abi Elphinstone 

Published by    Aladdin on January 7, 2020

Genres: Middle Grade , Adventure

Pages: 383

Format: Arc

Source: Publisher

2019 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & NobleGoodreads

I would give this book 5 for a review.

Summary!!!

From bestselling author Abi Elphinstone comes a wondrous new series about four secret unmapped kingdoms hidden in our own world! 

Casper Tock hates risks and is allergic to adventures. So it comes as a nasty shock to him one day when he hides from bullies in an ancient grandfather clock—and ends up finding an entire world inside.

Casper discovers that this sky kingdom of Rumblestar is one of the four Unmapped Kingdoms in charge of controlling the weather in Casper’s own world. What’s more, Casper is now stuck in Rumblestar, and the only person there who doesn’t think he’s a demon spy is a strange girl named Utterly, who hates rules and is allergic to behaving.

All Casper wants is to find his way home, but Rumblestar is in trouble. An evil harpy called Morg is trying to steal the magic of the Unmapped Kingdoms. And if these kingdoms fall, Casper’s world will be destroyed as well.

And so, together with Utterly and her miniature dragon, Arlo, Casper embarks on a quest full of cloud giants, storm ogres, and drizzle hags. Can he, Utterly, and Arlo—the unlikeliest of heroes—save both their worlds from the clutches of Morg?

My Thoughts:

I really adored this book. From the first page I was hooked. I really love casper as a lead. I also adored how this world was crafted. This book was a pure adventure and i could not put it down. I loved how this book dealt with unique topics like friendship, being brave and compassion In a unique fantasy world. I thought casper was special hero that I loved reading from. I loved this world and really am so excited to read more in the future.

Hidden Meaning (Non-Spoiler Review)

Hidden Meaning  by Elizabeth Adams

Published by   Guideposts; First Edition edition (2014)

Genres: cozy mysteries

Pages: 320

Format: Hardback

Source: personally bought

2019 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Goodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

N/A

My Thoughts:


I did enjoy this read. I think even thought i read this book out of order, I still was able to follow the story. This story does have some religious overtones at points but it did not bother me. I liked that this mystery did not focus totally on murder but on other elements and this book had a unique plot that I enjoyed. I think the pacing and the development of the mystery was okay but I felt like this story did not have as any crumbs to follow. I would consider reading more in the future maybe.