Nameless Queen (Non-Spoiler Review)

Nameless Queen  by Rebecca McLaughlin

Published by  Crown Books for Young Readers on January 7, 2020

Genres: Young Adult, Fantsay

Pages: 352

Format: E-book

Source: Publisher

2020 challenge: 2020 Read

Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary!!!

One girl must make a name for herself–or die trying–in this royal fantasy where an unknown peasant becomes the ultimate ruler. But how long can she keep the crown if everyone wants her dead? Perfect for fans of Furyborn, Red Queen, and Everless.

Everyone expected the king’s daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me. 

It shouldn’t be possible. I’m Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don’t even get names. Dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care.

But there’s no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous than the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don’t?

My Thoughts:

I overall really enjoyed these characters and this world building. I also really enjoyed how this book addressed very current event elements and had such a interesting and compelling story as a read. I adored both the main character in the read and loved the message about making your own family so much. It was fun engaging pace read. I thought the end had some pacing issues but I really did grow to love the characters and this world. I think the highlight of this book was the world building and the group of the characters that came together for this adventure. Some plot elements had predictable elements but overall I enjoyed this read and will def read a book 2!