Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things (Non-Spoiler Review)

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things  by Jacqueline Firkins

Published by   HMH Books for Young Readers on December 17, 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 384

Format: Hardback

Source: Book Of the Month

2019 challenge: 2019 book

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & NobleGoodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Mansfield, Massachusetts, is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburban mothers and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. She’s got her own plans, and they don’t include any prince charming.

But as she dives into schoolwork and getting a scholarship for college, Edie finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys strumming for her attention: First, there’s Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love, who’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there’s Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player who’s totally off limits—even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help herself from being caught between them. Now, she just has to make sure it isn’t her heart that breaks in the process.

My Thoughts:

I did like this read. But i felt like both the pacing and also me feeling connected to these characters were not as strong as I waned it to be. This is a book that I would have enjoyed being in the POV of the other male leads would have helped. I enjoyed the elements of retelling and I liked the various art elements like music, theater and english that enhances this story. I really liked the various romances in this book and found them both to fun. I def liked one more then the the other. I also found the realtionship between the cousins was a fun one. I liked this read and really enjoyed the epilogue and how this story was wrapped up