Serpent and Dove (Arc Non-Spolier Review)

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Published by  HarperTeen on September 3, 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Fantsay

Pages: 528

Format: arc

Source: publisher

2019 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4.75 for a review.

Summary!!!

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

My Thoughts:

I really adored this book. I found his book to be the prefect fall read. I really enjoyed both the large cast of characters and how how these characters were painted as being shades of grey and not just good and evil. I really also enjoyed the plot and the unexpected twists that this book showed and occurred. I also really was enjoyed the world building and the magic system that was crafted. I also really enjoyed the duel POV in this book. I also really enjoyed the historical fiction time period of this book. I wish the end was a bit rushed and then cliffhanger left me with so many questions and I need book 2!! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s