Time Sight (Non-Spoiler review)

Time Sight by Lynn Joel

Published by  Henry Holt and Co. on May 14, 2019

Genres: Middle grade, adventure

Pages: 416

Format: arc

Source: publisher

2019 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 3 for a review.

Summary!!!

Castles, battles, the ancient Scottish Highlands, and a boy who is determined to bring everyone safely home combine in this absorbing middle grade time-travel adventure.

Will’s mother is in danger overseas, and his father must find her, so Will and his little brother are packed off to relatives in Scotland. Will feels useless. He can’t save his mother. He can’t help his father. And when he tries to amuse his brother on the plane ride, he can’t even locate the images in Jamie’s book―the hidden pictures that everyone else can see. Once at the family’s ancestral castle, though, Will tries again. And as he delicately adjusts his focus, suddenly his eyes tune in to a different visual frequency―the past.

Looking back five hundred years is interesting . . . at first. But when Jamie impulsively leaps through the opening in time, Will and his cousin Nan must follow, into a past so dangerous that Will isn’t sure how he will get everyone safely home.

My Thoughts:

I really did like this middle grade read. I really did love the dynamics between the siblings made the book such a fun read. I also loved how she crafted time travel overall. The plot was sometimes hard to follow and I sometimes was confused about what time period we were in but overall it was super fun adventure story that pulled a lot from real history that I really enjoyed. I found the book plot to be not as smooth as want and wanted it do more direct but I did grow to love the characters and I adored the settings in this read.

Serpent and Dove (Arc Non-Spolier Review)

Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Published by  HarperTeen on September 3, 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Fantsay

Pages: 528

Format: arc

Source: publisher

2019 challenge:

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4.75 for a review.

Summary!!!

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy duology, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Set in a world of powerful women, dark magic, and off-the-charts romance, book one of this stunning fantasy duology will leave readers burning for more.

My Thoughts:

I really adored this book. I found his book to be the prefect fall read. I really enjoyed both the large cast of characters and how how these characters were painted as being shades of grey and not just good and evil. I really also enjoyed the plot and the unexpected twists that this book showed and occurred. I also really was enjoyed the world building and the magic system that was crafted. I also really enjoyed the duel POV in this book. I also really enjoyed the historical fiction time period of this book. I wish the end was a bit rushed and then cliffhanger left me with so many questions and I need book 2!!