The Paris Seamstress (Non-Spoiler Review)

The Paris Seamstress  by Natasha Lester

Published by  Forever on September 18, 2018

Genres: Adult, Historical Fiction

Pages: 464

Format: PaperBack

Source: Personally bought

2019 challenge: Beat the backlist challenge

Buy on AmazonBarnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary!!!

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.

1940: As the Germans advance upon Paris, young seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee everything she’s ever known. She’s bound for New York City with her signature gold dress, a few francs, and a dream: to make her mark on the world of fashion. 

Present day: Fabienne Bissette journeys to the Met’s annual gala for an exhibit featuring the work of her ailing grandmother – a legend of women’s fashion design. But as Fabienne begins to learn more about her beloved grandmother’s past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and family secrets that will dramatically change her own life.

My Thoughts:

This is the first historical fiction book I read in awhile and I really enjoyed it. I was really invited in both time lines and also the other characters we read through their eyes. I also really enjoyed the focus on the fashion industry and the complex relationships that we explored. I also really enjoyed the spy craft and war elements that were used throughout this novel. I also really liked how this book wa structured and how it kept swapping time lines. I really did enjoy this book, I felt that some of the plot stuff got a bit confusing at points but I would def read more by this author in the future.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s