The Afterlife of Holly Chase (Non-Spoiler Review)

The Afterlife of Holly Chase  by Cynthia Hand

unknown-5

Published by HarperTeen on October 24, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, holiday read

Pages: 400

Format: paperback

Source: personally bought

2018 challenge: Beat the backlist challenge

Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I would give this book 4 for a review.

Summary!!!

Before I Fall meets “bah, humbug” in this contemporary YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand. On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died. Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge—as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable. But this year’s Scrooge is different. This year’s Scrooge might change everything…The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, poignant, and insightful novel about life, love, and seizing second (or third) chances, perfect for readers who loved Before I Fall or Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I normally struggle with unlikable characters but I really did enjoy holly throughout the book and really liked her by the end. I really enjoyed this book as a retelling and especially liked how it was mix between a retelling and also had elements of work place comedy. I really liked all the side characters def made me really loved this book. I found this book to be super well paced even thought it occurred over the course of the year. I did liked how the holly turned did seem like it was realistic and really enjoyed it. It was def. one of of my favorite holiday reads of the year.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s