Samantha Spinner and the Super Secret Plans: Non-Spoiler Review!!!

Samantha Spinner and the Super Secret Plans by Russell Finns

Unknown

Published by  Delacorte Books for Young Readers on February 13, 2018

Genres: Middle Grade, Adventure

Pages: 246

Format: Arc

Source: Publisher

2018 challenge: NA

Buy on AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

I would give this book 3.5 for a review.

Summary!!

Get ready for round-the-world adventure with Sam Spinner and her brother Nipper in the first book in a new hilarious, puzzle-packed series filled with super-secret messages! Perfect for fans of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and classics like Holes.

Samantha Spinner’s uncle Paul disappeared, and here’s what he left:
*  Samantha’s sister got a check for $2,400,000,000.
*  Samantha’s brother got the New York Yankees.
*  And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says “Watch out for the RAIN.”

Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul.

After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they’ve shared, how could he just leave without saying goodbye? And what is the meaning of that mysterious message?

The answer is simple. Sam knows in her heart that Uncle Paul is in danger. And if he taught her anything, it’s that not everything is exactly what it seems. Which is why we should pay close attention to that rusty red umbrella, and never trust a monkey at a hula-hoop contest.

The RAIN is coming and Samantha Spinner is about to find herself mixed up in some super-important, super-dangerous, super-secret plans.

My Brief Thoughts:

I enjoyed this book. I found it to be super cute and loved how the author not only made this adventure story but also taught kids about various locations throughout the world. I really enjoyed the lead characters and there is adorable dog involved. I thought the plot was predictable at points but I think middle grade and especially younger readers will love it. I read this book in a about a day and found it to super fast read.
I will def. be checking out book two in this series

My Extended Thoughts!

 

Characters: I thought the characters were super cute. I wanted a tad more character growth for them but the book was not super long, so I am hopeful for that next book in this series these characters will get fleshed out a tad more. I think kids will adore these characters and want to follow their adventures.

Plot:  This book had some “magic”  or prefect elements to start the book off but the adventure was super fun and loved how the book had a narrative and them explaining and teaching the kids about various places in the world. It was as super fun read!

Pace: This story was very fast pace and very compelling end sentences in a chapter that kept me want to keep reading and I think the same will be true for younger readers!

Will I read book 2!!!! Yup!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s