Ash Princess: Non-Spolier Review

Ash Princess  by Laura Sebastian

Published by Delacorte Press on April 24, 2018

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 448

Format: Arc

Source: Comic Con

amazon  goodreads  barnes and noble

I would give this book 5 for a review.

Challenge: PSRC Author same first name as you!!!

Unknown-3.jpeg

Summary!

For fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen and Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes, Ash Princess is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. On that day, the Kaiser took Theodosia’s family, her land, and her name. Theo was crowned Ash Princess–a title of shame to bear in her new life as a prisoner.

For ten years Theo has been a captive in her own palace. She’s endured the relentless abuse and ridicule of the Kaiser and his court. She is powerless, surviving in her new world only by burying the girl she was deep inside.

Then, one night, the Kaiser forces her to do the unthinkable. With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough. But she does have a weapon: her mind is sharper than any sword. And power isn’t always won on the battlefield.

For ten years, the Ash Princess has seen her land pillaged and her people enslaved. That all ends here.

 

My Brief Thoughts:

*I got this book for review my thoughts are my own*
I really loved this book so much. It has so many of my favorite elements all my mixed together in such a unique novel. I especially loved the former friend comes back to work with the princess, the lost princess, the prince who is conflicted and just some much political intigue. I thought it was such a fast pace novel. It was super hard to put down and the pace even thought it was alot of world building was done so well. I really loved this book and the lead character. This is def one of my favorite reads of the month. I can’t wait for book 2… now i must wait 😦

My Extended Thoughts:

Characters:  I really enjoyed the characters in this story. I thought even though they were based off of pretty typical character types but I really loved how they were crafted. I felt emotionally connected to them all. This whole story to me had  very similar feelings of my mine to the Anastasia myth. I have never read quite a character like Thora before but I really loved her and became equally invested the larger cast of characters.

Romance: It has been since the infernal devices that I found a story that I enjoy the love triangle and could feel for both sides of the triangle. I felt that way with this story alot. I towards the end am even more conflicted about what sides, I want to win but do enjoy both boys in this triangle 🙂

Pace: This book was def. a slow burn with a lot of political intrigue. If you liked the pace of a book like three dark crowns this pace was super similar but I was really invested in the story line and the characters.

Next book!!! Yes please!!!! I need it now!!!

Advertisements