#ARCAugust TBR

I totally stole this from @howling libraries. I am planning on reading many arcs this month most of them I got from book con and blogger con. I will be attending comic con this fall and it is important that read and find new homes for these books, well the ones that are not singed to me.

The arcs I hope to read this month are:

  1. A Map for Wreaked Girls ( Comes out august 15)
  2. If their is no tomorrow ( Comes out sept. 5th)
  3. Daughter of a Burning city
  4. One dark Throne (Comes out sept. 19)
  5. Warcross (Comes out Sept 12)

I have so many arcs but these are my goal arcs for this month! Let me known in the comments what books should i push up on my TBR!

Later book lovers

Laura

 

Alex, Approximately: Non-Spoiler Review

Alex Approximately  by Jenn Bennett

Published by  Simon Pulse on April 4, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, contemporary

Pages: 400

Format:  e-book

Source: Overdrive

Amazon  Goodreads  Barnes and Noble

 

I would give this book 3.5  for a review.

Summary

In this delightfully charming teen spin on You’ve Got Mail, the one guy Bailey Rydell can’t stand is actually the boy of her dreams—she just doesn’t know it yet.

Classic movie buff Bailey “Mink” Rydell has spent half of her junior year falling for a sensitive film geek she only knows online as “Alex.” Two coasts separate them until she moves in with her dad, who lives in the same California surfing town as her online crush.

Faced with doubts (what if he’s a creep—or worse?), Bailey doesn’t tell Alex she’s moved to his hometown. Or that she’s landed a job at the local tourist trap, the oddball Cavern Palace Museum. Or that she’s being tormented daily by Porter Roth, a smart-alecky yet irritatingly hot museum security guard. But when Porter and Bailey are locked in the museum overnight, Bailey is forced to choose whether she should cling to a dreamy fantasy in Alex or take a risk on an imperfect reality with Porter. The choice is both simpler and more complicated than she realizes, because Porter Roth is hiding a secret of his own: Porter is Alex. Approximately.

My Thoughts:

I overall loved the concept and I enjoyed the characters. It was well done. I just wish this book would have had duel POV because it would have made me equally invested in both characters. I think I preferred Porter as a lead character and wish i would have got into his head more. I thought this book was pretty predictable at points but it was fun read and I thought his setting made the books was so much fun and also had some fun friendship drama that i enjoyed reading about. I just wish that this book would have given me more about porter thought a POV.

They both die in the end: non-spoiler review

They both die in the end  by Adam Silvera

Published by  HarperTeen on September 5, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, contemporary, LGBTQ

Pages: 384

Format: Arc

Source: Won from an singing

amazon goodreads Barnes and Noble Goodreads

I would give this book 4 for a review.

1487621303004.jpeg

Summary

New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I loved the focus on the friendship and also elements of romance made the book a fast pace read. Very heartbreaking at points but also such a creative look at life and death. I like it how a unique concept and also the various POV we got in this book. I also love how interconnected all the POV tied in together in creative ways. It was was read that made me so happy and so sad. I love both leads. I rec. this esp for the friendship dynamics. I really liked how he crafted the world and also the book was so hard to predict. The lead characters were so lovely and the other characters made this world seem so life like. I was captivated from page one and was in tears near the end.  I really enjoyed it and hope to read more by this author soon!

August TBR 2017: Last month of freedom!

So book friends!

I love the month of august for many reasons! It is my birthday month. I am turning 30! I am getting so old but also it is the last full month I have off from student teaching. The fall will be crazy busy so I am planning on reading a lot this month especially focusing on arcs from book con and publishers.

Books from publishers I want to read:

  1. Mask of Shadows: ( comes out August 29)
  2. The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match ( comes out September 12)

  3. Silver in blood ( Came out July 6th)

Books from my Collection and or Book Con that I want to read:

  1. Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society Novel)
  2. School for Good and Evil (Series)
  3. A Map for Wreaked Girls ( Comes out august 15)
  4. If their is no tomorrow ( Comes out sept. 5th)
  5. Daughter of a Burning city
  6. One dark Throne (Comes out sept. 19)
  7. Warcross (Comes out Sept 12)

I may even read more books! But this is what I hope to complete! Let me know in the comments what Should I read first!

Later book lovers!

Laura