Queen of Attolia: Non-Spoiler review

Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner

by sarah!!!

Published by  Greenwillow Books; Reissue edition on September 10, 2009

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 300

Format: hardback

Source: rented

amazon  goodreads  barnes and noble

I would give this book 3.5 for a review.


New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia’s palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief.

My Thoughts!

This book is the second in the Queen’s thief series. The first book< i found to be okay. It is about a thief who is supposed to be the best in the land and is commissioned to steal something for the king. I enjoyed the book, but found the main character, Gen to be irritating at times. He whined a lot, which was at times funny and at other times, not so much. The second book also follows Gen or Eugenides which is his full name. After reading the second book I think the whining was in part to show his immaturity and youth. The second book continues that a little but as he matures in the book his whininess lessons. Where the first book was an introduction to the world, and just touches the surface, the second book expands on the politics and people. I’ve heard it gets better as it goes, so I am looking forward to that. I did really enjoy in both books the folklore stories the characters told each other. A story inside a story, as I do enjoy mythology and folklore I really enjoyed these parts. I think it gave insight to the morals and beliefs of this world. I defiantly was more invested in the main characters in this book and can’t wait to see what happens next. I would say if you were not crazy about the first book to give the second a chance before giving up on the series.